lemon carnage scraps…5 more uses

30 Dec

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

 

After making  a batch of lemon curd, I decided to take the rest of my 4lbs of meyer lemons and put it to good use.  After all I had so much zest, juice and rinds left over!  I’m not a huge fan of marmalade because I think it’s too bitter so I found five other ways to make use of ALL the lemons, that’s right, nothing went in the garbage!

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

Look how gorgeous!  First I zested all but four of the lemons….I didn’t zest them super perfect but I had a whack load of zest, my hands smelled so lovely after.  I then juiced the zested ones, made some lemon curd and saved the rest.

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

The left over juice I combined about a cup and half of sugar to 2 1/2 cups of lemon juice to make a syrup  I figure I can use this to make refreshing fizzy drinks and use it to flavour icings, cakes and the like.  I cooked it down quite a bit to concentrate the flavours.

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

A long time ago I read that you could preserve whole lemons in just kosher salt, it’s a Moroccan thing.  Cut the lemons length wise about 3/4 down in a cross (like 4 wedges but all attached).   Cover open edges in about 1tbsp of kosher salt, smush ’em in the jar and cover the top with more salt.  The goal is to get them submerged all the time so some swishing is necessary on a daily basis.  When it’s good and preserved, you take the rind only and chop it up into rice and anything you want a nice lemony zing.  Can’t wait to try this!

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

Lemon zest in sugar and salt, this was probably the easiest!  Take the zest and mix it thoroughly with your sugar and salt, I just eyeballed it.  It’s a good idea to let the sugar dry out, so spread it out on a cookie sheet and let it dry until it doesn’t clump anymore before you store it.  The salt takes much less time to dry out.  Use it in baking, cooking, whatevs…it adds a nice bright flavour to whatever you’re making!

lemon scraps theurbanpocketknife

Lemon scraps dunked in a vat of white vinegar.  I’m not sure if this is going to just turn into a mega tasty lemon vinegar or if I’ll just end up using it as a natural cleaner.  Either way, I’ll give it a taste in a month or so and see what the flavour is like, otherwise it’s destined to be my Mr. Clean.

I’m a little bit in love that I got so many uses out of these lemons!

 

 

Leave a Reply

