bacon pork liver pâté with pomegranate jelly…

25 Nov

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

 

As usual, I kind of forgot that I had a whack load of piglet offal in my freezer that my local farmer graciously donated because her customers don’t really request it.  I can’t say no to free food so I accepted it and chucked it into my freezer.  My plan was to make all kinds of pâtés and terrines but I’ve never made it so kept it on the back burner for ages.  Scrounging through my deep freeze to find some chicken stock, I found the long lost offal bag and decided now was the time to attack it.

My family has always loved pâtés so we definitely grew up on it not really knowing what was in it.  Usually I buy it from Oyama on Granville Island because they sell the most delicious meaty things but it can run a little expensive at $3.99-$7.99 for 100gr.

So it turns out it’s way easier than I thought it would be…this recipe makes a few small batches and the great thing is you can freeze it!  I had a lone pomegranate in the fridge so I thought instead of a red wine jelly, maybe a pomegranate jelly would suffice.

Here’s the recipe!

What you need!
1 1/2 lbs pork liver
4tbsp butter
1 red onion
1 sweet onion (I used walla walla)
2 tsp kosher salt
4 garlic cloves sliced
1/2 cup of milk (plus extra for soaking)
1 tsp black pepper
100 grams cubed bacon (optional)

Jelly:
2tbsp water
1 tsp unflavoured gelatin crystals
1/2 cup + 3tbsp pomegranate juice (1 medium pomegranate)
2 tsp sugar

What to do!

1.  Cut the liver into 1″ cubes and pour enough milk over to cover, soak for about an hour.  The milk is suppose to take the bitterness out of the liver.  If I didn’t happen to have milk on hand, I would’ve probably skipped this step

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

2.  Add the butter to a large pan, set on medium heat and melt butter.  Add thinly sliced onions and sautee until caramelized.  It takes forever, be patient.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

3.  While your onions are taking forever, grab your pomegranate seeds and mash them inside a ziplock bag to juice them.  Mess free!  Cut a small corner out and strain the liquid out.  Set aside.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

4.  Once the onions are getting close to caramelizing, add in the sliced garlic and sautee for 5 min.  Turn up the heat to medium-high and add in the liver strained from the milk.   Cook until slightly pink in the centre of liver.  Season with salt and pepper.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

 

5.  While the liver is cooking, use a separate pan to brown your bacon cubes.  I just happen to be frying some up for my pasta dinner so I added some extra because I thought it would be nice to get a chunk or two in the pâté.  Set aside.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

6.  Once the liver is cooked, it’s time to pulse it in a food processor.  I grind it as far as my mini processor will go, if it seems lumpy, you could add a splash of milk to help smooth it out.  Put the ground up liver in a bowl.  You may decide to put the mix through a strainer to get a velvety smooth pâté, but I love the bits of onion so I didn’t bother.  Stir in bacon bits and milk, feel free to add a bit more milk if you want a smoother consistency.  Make sure to have a taste here and adjust your seasonings to your liking.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

 

7.  Divide the pâté into small jars or ramekins or really whatever you have.  Obviously the wider the dish, the more jelly you’re going to have on top, so choose accordingly!  These jars hold 250ml.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

 

8.  To make the jelly, put the water into a small bowl and sprinkle gelatin over, let it sit for 5min.  Heat the pomegranate juice (I just nuked it) and add it slowly to the gelatin while stirring to dissolve it.  Let the mixture cool to room temperature.  On a side note, if I had more pomegranate juice I may have put it on the stovetop and reduced it to intensify the flavour.

9.  Once the pomegranate mixture is cooled enough, pour it over the pate.  Cover and put pâté in the fridge to set.

bacon pork liver pate pomegranate jelly urbanpocketknife

And that’s it!  Seems like it’s a lot of steps but it’s easy peasy.  Spread it on crackers or some great bread and you have a great snack, hor d’oeuvres or tea party treat.  Freeze the ones in the jars and enjoy it at a later date!

 

Leave a Reply

