roasted eggplant with garlic yogurt and pomegranates…

20 Oct

eggplant pomegranate theurbanpocketknife

 

Unusual food combinations are so appealing to me.  One cold afternoon, I went to do one my favourite rainy day things and strolled through a Chapters while sipping a blasphemous over-sugared Starbucks concoction.  I stumbled upon a pile of cookbooks and was immediately drawn to Plenty by Yotam Ottolenghi.  The photography is breathtaking and completely inspiring.  I quickly tucked it under my arm and proceeded to the cash register.  I don’t buy cookbooks very often and this one was also entirely vegetarian which is crazy for such a carnivore like myself.

Weeks later I invited a favourite couple of mine over for a loosely Mediterranean style dinner to thank them for graciously storing my off-season tires in their garage all year.

This recipe is the most eye catching and strangely delicious with pops of pomegranate, tangy yogurt sauce and succulent eggplant underneath.  I must admit I did wing some of it because I was missing some of the ingredients but I feel it captured the essence nonetheless.

Here’s the recipe!

What you need!
2 large eggplants
1/3 cup olive oil
1 1/2 tsp dried thyme
pomegranate
sumac
salt and pepper

Sauce:
1/2 cup high fat yogurt
1 1/2 tbsp olive oil
1 garlic clove crushed
pinch of salt

What to do!

1.  Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Cut the eggplant in half lengthwise.  Scour each eggplant in a diamond pattern without piercing the skin.

2.  With eggplants cut side up, place them in a casserole dish or cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Brush with olive oil and sprinkle thyme, salt and pepper over the surface.  Bake for 35-40 minutes or until tender.  Remove from oven and let it cool completely to room temperature.

3.  While the eggplant is baking, remove seeds from pomegranate (google how to do this easily).  Prepare the sauce by whisking all ingredients together and set aside in the fridge.

4.  To finish, spoon the sauce over the eggplant and sprinkle plenty of pomegranate seeds on top.  Finish with a sprinkle of sumac (middle-eastern smoky tangy seasoning) and drizzle some olive oil on top.  Prepare to be blown away while you dive into it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

