banana butter honey cupcakes…

23 Jun

banana butter cupcakes urbanpocketknife

Once I upon a time I made banana butter and it was glorious.  However I have a bad habit of losing things in my deep freezer and forgetting what’s in there, I should probably make a list one day that I can stick to the outside.  In any case, I had intentions on making cupcakes but was too lazy to go out to the store to get any of the ingredients so I scrounged through my pantry and freezer and found the amazing banana butter!

banana butter cupcakes urbanpocketknife

I can’t fully remember why I needed to make these cupcakes but I suspect it was because I just purchased some new piping tips and was excited to try them out!  Turns out I’m not that amazing at piping but will likely practice until my hands bleed.

I took a pretty basic banana cupcake recipe and altered it to accommodate the intensity of the banana butter.  Here’s the recipe!

What you need!
1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 cup melted butter
1 cup banana butter
2 large eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla

Honey Buttercream:
1 1/4 cup icing sugar
1/2 cup softened butter
1 tbsp honey
gel food colouring

What to do!

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line your standard muffin tin.  Mix your flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

2.  Make a well in your flour mix and add melted butter, banana butter, eggs and vanilla.  Stir to mix in flour until just moistened.  Divide batter evenly in 12 muffin liners.

3.  Bake for 25-30 or until a toothpick poked in comes out clean.  Let cool completely!

4.  With an electric mixer, mix all buttercream ingredients until smooth.  Add gel food colouring if you want sassy cupcakes!

5.  Put buttercream in piping bag with your favourite tip and pipe away on fully cooled cupcakes.

banana butter cupcakes urbanpocketknife

Leave a Reply

