a blanket for bebe…

23 Feb

merino wool baby blanket urbanpocketknife

My good friend is having a baby soon and it was the perfect excuse to practice my knitting skills.  Crocheted was my thing for so long but I’ve come to love the thin fabrics knit can make and the different styles of stitches.  As always, I bought some yarn without even having glanced at a pattern so when I got home I was battling to find something that I liked.

Turns out I didn’t like any.  So I made one up, with a simple paneled striped look, edged with crochet to give it more texture.  Plus I learned how to do a criss crossy peekaboo diamond thing…awesome.

merino wool baby blanket urbanpocketknife

I used Berroco Vintage DK and Noro Silk Garden both of which are wool (maybe one is a merino blend, I cant’ remember)  It turned out quite spiffy and is appropriate for a girl or boy I think.

merino wool baby blanket urbanpocketknife

I’m secretly hoping this will become bebe’s security blanket and it even looks good all crumpled up as a kid would generally have it.  We shall wait and see!

Leave a Reply

