organic walla walla onion powder…

19 Dec

walla walla onion powder urbanpocketknife

Making your own spices is somehow super gratifying, earlier this summer I made garlic scape powder and I regret not making more!  It’s relatively simple, it just takes a long time to dehydrate the veggies first.

At the end of the Walla Wall sweet onion season, I got some seconds to take home and dehydrate.  Have you ever tried to cut 8 jumbo onions?  I did, and I cried.  Open windows, spoon in my mouth and candle burning, all those things are a crock, the only thing that would’ve saved me was onion goggles.

First you gotta dry all the onions.  I sliced them fairly thin and laid them out on two dehydrators…outside.  Because really, no one wants their house smelling like onions for weeks.

walla walla onion powder urbanpocketknife

Onions have a lot of water in them so it took a couple of days and what you get back is not much!

walla walla onion powder urbanpocketknife

I threw them in the coffee grinder and pulsed it until it was powdery.

walla walla onion powder urbanpocketknife

If I was really particular, I would’ve sifted what came out of the grinder but who are we kidding?  I’m rustic as hell.  Powder goes in one of the million mason jars I have lying around, labeled, dated and now I have 250ml of organic onion powder to use.  I think I’ll have to do at least another batch so we have enough for the year!  Maybe a red onion powder, that could be cooOooOoOOool.

Leave a Reply

