crispy fat-free multi-coloured beet chips!

17 Nov

beet chips urbanpocketknife

Leave a whole bag of potato chips with me and I’ll devour the whole damn thing, same goes with my other half.  Finding an alternative wasn’t crazy hard since we have a surplus of beets from the market.

Making them in the oven proved to be only semi-successful.  Beets burn really fast so it’s quite tedious checking them every so often and I always had to them in batches since I can only fit two cookie trays in at a time.

Behold!  Dehydrators to the rescue.  Oh yes, that’s plural.  Side by side my friend’s kick ass dehydrator with temperature control and circulating fan beside my ghetto Ronco buy-it-on tv version.

Here goes the dehydrating madness that has become my house.  Select some beets that will fit in your mandoline.  I like red beets that are swirled with white stripes and golden beets.  Mostly because they are way less messy and doesn’t turn my kitchen into a blood bath.

beet chips urbanpocketknife

Slice ’em thin, I wouldn’t go too papery thin because they’ll shrivel up like the dickens and you’ll be sad that your chips are the size of nothing.  Don’t be a sucker like me and be super careful with the mandoline, I ended up slicing the heel of my palm and it was not pretty.

beet chips urbanpocketknife

Layer them on your trays, I cheated and overlapped them a bit.  Sprinkle some flavourings, I used plain old sea salt but you can add whatever your heart desires.

beet chips urbanpocketknife

Dehydrate at 135 F for as long as it takes to make them crispy…it’ll take at least a day or if you’re a Ronco dehydrator….forever and a day.  Do not cry as to how much beet you have lost.

beet chips urbanpocketknife

Once done throw these bad boys into a sealed container so they don’t suck up moisture from the air.  Enjoy your air dried beet chips!

4 Responses to “crispy fat-free multi-coloured beet chips!”

  1. Nico November 17, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Although I have success making them in the oven, this methods seems to easy. Would love to own a dehydrator one day.

  2. Annika November 17, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I think I have been waiting for a post like this. I love root veg chips, but hate how I feel after eating a whole bag by myself… Time to invest in a dehydrator!

    • munchykitty November 17, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      It’s totally great, it doesn’t have the greasiness of regular chips but they’re still tasty! I would recommend getting a dehydrator that has a fan and adjustable heat settings. I have two right now and the one with the fan dries a million times faster and doesn’t require rotating. Hope it works out!

      • Anonymous November 18, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

        Glad the uber-dehydrator has come in so handy! Looking forward to trying the goods : ) Hope the hand is feeling better!

Leave a Reply

