dutch oven red wine savoury beef short ribs…

9 Nov

This by far is my ultimate dish (perhaps it may even be my signature) that is crowd pleasing, uses my preserving efforts and is oh so easy!  I start off by cutting 4-5lb of organic beef short ribs into individual ribs.  Sear them in my dutch oven with a little bit of olive oil in batches.

Then here’s the kicker…I only add 3 more ingredients to it!  Ribs all go back in the pot, I add one 500ml jar of lamb stock that I froze earlier in the year, 500ml of pinot noir that I made earlier in the summer at one of those make-your-own wine places and simmer the dickens out of it.

The lid stays on for most of the cooking time, I don’t really time it at all but I would guess I braise them for 3-4 hours stirring it once in a while.

Once the shortribs are fall off the bone amazing, I take them out and pull out all the bones.  I let the liquid simmer down until it reaches a nice thick consistency.  Then for the 3rd ingredient!  I add 250ml of BBQ sauce I made out of heirloom tomatoes and had canned in the summer.

Done.  Shortribs go back in for a quick coating of the sauce and voila….something that seems complicated that ends up being the easiest thing to cook.  Using three ingredients that I had prepared earlier and stored is too simple to pass up.

Love.

Leave a Reply

