drying hot peppers for winter…

3 Nov

drying hot peppers urbanpocketknife

I like a little spice here and there although I’m not crazy for ultra spicy foods that burn off my tastebuds.  I got a nice sized bounty of hot peppers at the end of the season and decided to dry ’em out so that I could use them later in the winter.

I never realized how gratifying it is to use spices that you’ve made yourself, sure it takes a ton of time in the dehydrator plus all the grinding that has to be done, but it seems kinda awesome that you’ve done it all.

I had an assortment of hotties including jalepenos, chilis, cayenne, habenaros, serranos and pablano peppers.  I layered them in my dehydrator whole with the smaller ones at the bottom and then rising to the large ones.

Leaving them whole makes for a nice display and the only ones I cut were the cayennes or else they would be too long to fit in my jars.  I dried them until they were crisp and not at all soft, drying took between 24 hours to 3 days depending on the size.

I can’t wait to grind them up into powders and for now, they sit pretty on my pantry shelf.

drying hot peppers urbanpocketknife

Leave a Reply

