kapow! fun prints from Ikea…

31 Oct

ikea pantry curtain urbanpocketknife

In our odd little kitchen we have a pantry nook that seemed to be lacking some sort of door covering.  On a trip to Ikea, I noticed that they had bolts of really fun fabric in all sorts of zany colours and big bold patterns.

Curtains are such an easy project that I decided to buy a few metres and bust out my vintage Singer sewing machine and make a single panel for the kitchen.  The fabric I chose was $6.99/metre and was called Gunilla.

I bought grommets from Dressew because I was too lazy to sew tabs and a simple pressure rod from Home Depot.  An hour later, behold!  A new panel for the kitchen.

Now a fun pattern covers the doorway and hides all the nicknacks and pantry items behind.  It also acts like a barrier to keep the moisture out of there when I’m cooking up a storm.

Yay for projects!

Leave a Reply

