brussel sprout stalk….

17 Oct

brussel sprouts stalk urbanpocketknife

I know it’s silly, but sometimes I REALLY  like buying vegetables that have it’s original parts attached.  If there’s an apple with a leaf attached, it’s sure to find it’s way in my bag.  I saw a lady carrying a stalk of brussel sprouts at the West End Farmer’s Market one weekend and  I quickly accosted her and asked where she got it from.  Bolting down the stands with an 8 year old child on my arm who didn’t understand what all the hubbub was all about it, I found the stand that had only one left.

Hoping I didn’t look to desperate, I wait patiently behind 4 other people while being riddled by many questions by this 8 year old why I loved brussel sprouts so much.  I tried to explain that it was cool that it was on the stalk still…she didn’t get it.

In any case, I scored the last one for $5….dood, such a bargain.

Ok so you can’t eat the stalk because it’s woody as hell but it  looked  like a little trophy on my kitchen counter for a couple of days and made me smile.  Plus it made the best dish of brussel sprouts ever, charred, with some fried prosciutto, grated sheep cheese and drizzle of truffle oil.

brussel sprouts stalk urbanpocketknife

2 Responses to “brussel sprout stalk….”

  1. C October 17, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    Did you manage to find a use for the stalk??

    • munchykitty October 18, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

      seemed way too woody for it to be good for anything…

Leave a Reply

