pantry of homemade preserves…

14 Jul

pantry preserves urbanpocketknife

Since I started volunteering for an organic farm last year, I made it an unwritten goal that I would try and change most of our veggies into organics and those that are locally produced.  A little tougher in the winter months but I just made an effort to be more aware.  I can happily say that for the most part, our veggies in our house are organic!  And better yet, I found a great source for organic meat too so our beef, pork, chicken and lamb are all free-range, locally raised and organic.

I must admit that we are very fortunate to be able to change our food style to organics because it can be VERY expensive.  But with volunteering every week, it’s become something achievable plus we’ve reduced eating out and instead are cooking at home more.

My next food goal (besides switching to low carb) is to replace our pantry cupboard with all homemade preserves instead of store bought ones!  This goal is quite sizeable and requires a little bit of budgeting (not only money but time!).

To date I have a good 2 1/2 shelves of apple butter, applesauce, poached citrus, jams, roasted tomatoes, pickled onions and carrots.  But seriously, how much jam and pickles can we eat?

My next investment will have to be a pressure canner.  Water bath canning is only good for acidic foods but pressure canners can add a whole whack of food storage possibilities.  Things like salmon or tuna, marinades or dressings that have oil, veggies packed in just water….there’s so much more that I can do with a pressure canner!

Sure it takes a lot of time and patience but with the bounty that BC has to offer in the summer, it makes sense to stock up now so that you can enjoy summery foods in the winter.

Oh yeah, I also bought a deep freeze 🙂  Berries in the winter?  Yes please!

Leave a Reply

