cauliflower dunganess crab truffle oil soup…

7 Jul

cauliflower crab soup urbanpocketknife

Whoa…I recently went to Seattle and ate at Toulouse Petit.  Holy moly, was it ever a great creole/southern style restaurant!  With reasonable prices and a huge selection of menu items, their food is quite amazing!

The most notable thing I had was my appetizer, a pureed cauliflower soup with dunganess crab marinated in truffle oil, finished off with creme fraiche and a little horseradish.  I could eat vats of this creamy soup all day.

As soon as I ate it I knew I had to try and make it at home!  Damn!  I forgot the horseradish but nonetheless, it turned out great!

Here’s the recipe!

What you need!
1 head of cauliflower chopped
1 can of clam nectar
1/2 cup of cream
1/4 lb of dunganess crab meat (pre-cooked)
1 stalk of green onion minced
truffle oil
salt and pepper
creme fraiche

What to do!

1.  Cut the cauliflower into florets and boil them with the clam nectar until very tender.

2.  Being super careful, take out your immersion blender and the blend the heck out of it until smooth and creamy, put it back on the stove on low/med heat.

3.  Add in the cream and minced green onion.  Salt and pepper to taste.

4.  In a separate bowl, add some truffle oil to the crab.  I didn’t measure, I just coated it and added more to taste.

4.  When you are ready to serve, top the soup with a dollop of creme fraiche and some truffle oiled crab…..get a big spoon and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

