lakeview diner…24 hours of awesome

4 Jul

lakeview diner urbanpocketknife

Staying at my friend’s house near Lakeview Restaurant turned out to be quite amazing.  I love old styled diners and this one surely hit the top 5 that I’ve been to.  With old fashioned milkshake machines lining the front windows, there’s ample space for tons of customers with a nice fenced out patio outside.

lakeview diner urbanpocketknife

Located on the corner of Ossington and Dundas, it’s no wonder why people flock here at all times of the day and night.  Daytimers can order up some great brunch and late night eaters can grab a delicious poutine after a night out.

lakeview diner urbanpocketknife

There’s no a/c inside that I could tell so I chose to sit outside on the patio on this particularly hot and muggy day.  I love the random bright yellow chairs coupled with the worn out wooden tables.  A server quickly came to give me a bottle of water.

lakeview diner urbanpocketknife

There was no contest, I looked at the menu and decided on the Lakeview Benny.  Instead of your standard english muffin base, these bad boys had succulent crabcakes instead!  Replacing the hollandaise was a jamaican jerk yogurt sauce that was a little spicy and amazing.

Two soft poached eggs on top of fresh lettuce made a unique classic brunch item into something special.  The salad was also wonderful!  Fresh baby greens with a light dressing topped off with some sunflower seeds.  The potatoes were nicely seasoned and the sweet fruit were perfect to end the meal.

I highly suggest anyone in the area to stop in…I hope you love it as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

