organic coconut flour and cherry cake…

7 Apr

cherry cake urbanpocketknife

Remember back in the day when you used to eat those box cakes that bits of pinkish dots in it that was suppose to be cherry cake?  I used to love those cupcakes as a kid but now that I’m a grownup, I can bake it out of real ingredients!

I was lucky enough to get a bag of frozen cherries from Klipper’s last weekend and in true fashion,I greedily hoarded them even though I didn’t know what I was going to do with it.  I ate one cherry to test it out but it wasn’t quite the summery burstiness that I was expecting.

Makin’ some spaghetti squash with my beef brisket so I thought I’d take advantage of the heated oven and bake a cake at the same time.  Coconut flour is a miracle flour.  High in fibre and you need so little of it (with addition of extra eggs) to make something fluffy and delicious.  This cake is low in carbs, sugar-free and made with organic coconut flour, cherries and eggs!

Here’s the recipe…

What you need!
1 cup coconut flour (seriously that’s all you need)
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
6 eggs
1 cup erythritol
1/4 tsp stevia
1 tbsp honey
1 cup grapeseed oil
2 tbsp vanilla
2 cups frozen cherries (or blueberries would work)

What to do!

1.  Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  In a small bowl whisk the coconut flour, salt, baking soda and stevia together.

2.  In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, oil and vanilla together.

3.  Powder the erythritol in a coffee grinder, add to wet ingredients and incorporate along with the honey.

4.  Combine the dry and wet ingredients together.

5.  Fold in the frozen cherries.

6.  In a square 8″x8″ pan, lay a piece of parchment at the bottom OR grease the pan with butter or oil.  Pour batter in and bake for 40-50 minutes or until inserted toothpick comes out clean.  You may want to cover the cake with tinfoil half the time so the edges don’t burn.  Poop!

Leave a Reply

