yum yum in my tum….Pizzeria Libretto in Toronto

10 Feb

On my last day visiting Toronto, my parents wanted to drive me to the airport for my afternoon flight so I suggested we had a bite to eat first.  Nearby was Pizza Libretto in the Ossington/Dundas area.  I’ve heard so many good things about this place so I figure we’d give it a try.

My family loves to share.  If they could, they would order a small portion of each thing on the menu and get everyone to dig in.  And if they’re unfamiliar with the place, they’d rather have me order for them and….share.

pizzeria libretto urbanpocketknife

So to make things super easy, we went for the Lunch Prix Fixe at $15 a head.  It was perfect, 3 different choices for each section so we got to try it all!

Pictured above is one of their starters; bruschetta done chef style that is different depending on what day you go.  This one had delicious crispy apple slices with a gooey sheeps milk cheese on top of a crusty baguette.  Delish!

pizzaeria libretto urbanpocketknife

Next to it was the prosciutto bruschetta with gargonzola, just as good as the apple one but just more savoury.

The set menu also came with salad!  Arugula salad with pears, walnut and a apple vinaigrette.  Some shaved piave cheese (which has become one of our favourites!) on the side with a distinct grapefruit finish.

pizzeria libretto urbanpocketknife

The beet salad was my mom’s fave.  Done in a caprese style, golden beets are nested in between fresh mozzarella cheese, drizzled with olive oil and finished with some basil and greens.  It’s so simple but so good!

pizzeria libretto urbanpocketknife

And now for the main event!  First up was our Piadina of the day…ricotta, prosciutto crudo, and radicchio.  It’s basically a glorious pizza pocket with lots of filling and grilled so it’s crispy on the outside and soft on the inside.  We quickly inhaled it before our other two pizza came.

pizzeria libretto urbanpocketknife

Several of my friends told me that the Margherita pizza were the most famous so we decided to order them both.  The one above featured garlic and oregano with a tomato base.  Completely surprisingly delicious with such few ingredients.  The crust was crispy but soft on the inside and there was just enough sauce to moisten the crust.

pizzeria libretto urbanpocketknife

The second Margherita was more of the classic variety with basil and mozzarella cheese.  I think I liked this one the best as I loved the freshness and creamy texture of the cheese.  Both were great though!

For dessert we had some vanilla and chocolate gelato and some classic biscotti.  It was perhaps an over indulgent lunch but the three of us were happy and had full bellies!

Leave a Reply

