homemade apple sauce is the best…

14 Jan

What to do when the farmer’s market only has apples and squash left?  The roomie’s mom sends her big bottles of apple sauce so I decided that it couldn’t hurt to try to make some of my own.  I wasn’t sure what apple made the BEST apple sauce so I took a variety of macs, mutsus, golden delicious and ambrosia and kind of mixed them all together.

I made a small batch to test out since I’m heading over to make 28 bottles with a farmer’s market foodie friend next weekend…is it weird to be so excited about making apple sauce?

apple sauce urbanpocketknife

The boy’s mom sent us an old fashioned apple peeler that sat on a shelf for about a year as a conversation piece.  Since I had some apples to peel, I thought I’d take it for a test run and see what it did.

apple sauce urbanpocketknife

This thing is amazing.  I thought it only peeled but I was so wrong and completely underestimated this one purpose tool.  It peels and cores AND it slices it into 1/4 inch spiral.  All with just a few cranks of the hand.  Ours has a neat suction cup base and if you pull the lever one way it sticks to any smooth surface, no need for clamps!

I made a tiny batch, about 6 big apples but it made two 500ml jars and probably a cup leftover.  So easy peasy, just dump all your peeled and cored apples into a pot, add about a cup of water (especially if they’re tree ripened juicy organic ones!) and let it cook away.  My foodie friend advised using a cinnamon stick instead of the powder so it didn’t have that weird mouth drying affect that powder sometimes has.

apple sauce urbanpocketknife

As it was cooking, I’d take a masher and mush it down.  If it’s too thick, add more water!  If it’s too runny, let it cook some more!  The macs and mutsus turned into mush first and the ambrosias broke down into small chunks.  I kinda like the small chunks in the apple sauce though, it gives it more texture.

You can add sugar if you like, I added less than 1/4 cup and a squeeze of lemon is nice too.

apple sauce urbanpocketknife

Make a big batch if you’re canning or make smaller batches and put it in the fridge or freezer.  I think while the apples are in season I’ll be making fresh batches but the canned ones will be saved for when apples are out of season in Vancouver.  Eating what’s in season is cool now right?

Leave a Reply

