if I can’t kill an orchid, you can grow one too

7 Dec

orchid

I lucked out and got an orchid plant from the Vancouver Farmer’s Market for only $5!  I had no idea if this guy would die in my house but it takes very little care and the blooms last forever it seems.

The blossoms are complicated looking and although they appear delicate, the petals are in fact very thick and sturdy.  They glisten in the light and reflect like glitter.  Once a week watering and placed on our kitchen counter with indirect light and this guy is doing well.  Once the flowers all fall off, I’ll have to cut the stem down to encourage new growth in the following months.

Now I get why people love this plant!

Leave a Reply

