stuffed carnival squash with smoked rub…

4 Oct

Winter squash is in season and I vow to cook more with them!  I picked this pumpkin shaped carnival squash purely on the way it looked on the outside.  It is a cinch to roast squash up and you can eat them by themselves, but they are also extra tasty with some filling!

I made some rice with veggies and sausage and spiced it all with some tandoori rub for an extra kick!

Here’s the recipe…

What you need!
1 medium sized carnival squash
2 cups of cooked rice
2 peppers
1 red onion
2 cloves of garlic
smoked rub
olive oil

What to do!

1.  Preheat your oven to 375 degrees.  Cut your squash in half and scoop out the seeds.  In a casserole dish, place the squash cut side up and fill the casserole dish with water halfway.  Brush the tops of the squash with olive oil.  Bake in the oven for 45 min or until soft.

there is one carnival squash and one blue hubbard that I was roasting for another recipe 🙂

2.  Cook your rice however you like.  In a skillet on high heat, drizzle some olive oil and add your chopped onion and garlic.  Sautee until golden.  Add your sliced peppers and sausage and cook until sausage is completely done.

3.  Add the whole mixture to your cooked rice.

4.  Season your stuffing with whatever you like!  I used a pre-mixed Smoked Rub by Mason Cote (spices made in Vancouver!).  Season to taste!

I tasted as I went to make sure I had enough seasoning.

5.  Take the squash out when it’s fully cooked and pile the stuffing on top.  Put it back in the oven for another 10 minutes and then enjoy!

3 Responses to “stuffed carnival squash with smoked rub…”

  1. bet365 italia October 5, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    hi!This was a really magnificentsuper blog!
    I come from itlay, I was luck to look for your Topics in bing
    Also I get a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come daily

  2. C October 4, 2010 at 8:59 am #

    ❤ !! What does the carnival taste like? I found the Kuri to be pretty tough and strong flavored. Really firm, dark orange flesh. Probably best…in a curry!! or soup! Now I'm eying my blue hubbard for lunch! =)

    • munchykitty October 5, 2010 at 7:20 am #

      The flesh is yellow and mild and fairly moist. I made my Kuri into a soup with some roasted walla walla onions, milk, cinnamon, ground chili and a touch of milk!

Leave a Reply

