completely ridiculous nail art…

7 Sep

japanese-esque cherry blossoms perhaps?

So an odd thing came over me a few weeks back, I had a memory of myself in my teenage years and putting on blue nailpolish.  My mom freaked out, thought I was one with Satan only to discover several years later that it was main stream to have nail colours other than red and pink.

I used to love doing my nails….it was my thing.  But climbing made me cut em down short and I’ve been sporting them plain for years.  I mean, what’s the point of doing them if you’re just going to ruin them in less than a week?

I gave it a try one day and discovered that I actually like having colour on my nails again.  Maybe it’s because there isn’t pink in my hair anymore but whatever it is, I have discovered nail art!

Don’t get me wrong, I realize the HIGH potential of this getting way out of hand and uber tacky.  I’ve seen girls glue on an absurd amount of trinkets and doodads on their nails.  But out of practicality the nails are staying short for climbing and the wear and tear just encourages me to re-do them in new designs.

No doubt my canvas is small, some gals have nails as far as the eye can see but with some tiny brushes, I managed to come up with a few designs that I actually can do with my left hand as well.

golden feathery-ness

Even though my nails are short, I get a lot of comments from people….it’s apparently all the rage in asian countries which is why you can see nail paints (nailpolish with tiny brushes instead) in a lot of asian stores like Daiso.

daisies on blue!

And now my most prized design to date….nail marbling!  Taking an old painting on water technique, it has been adapted using nailpolish instead.  It’s crazy fun and although it takes some organization and patience, the patterns you can make are endless.  Check out some youtube videos of nail marbling to see what I mean.

For me, it’s kind of like wearing jewelry (since I don’t wear much anyway), the marbling is especially impressive because each nail turns out different!

It kind of looks like a sticker but that's 100% nailpolish...4 colours to be exact!

It’s a little crazy but also kinda cool.  Also it allows me to be creative even though the work is never permanent, there’s always photographs to help me remember though!

One Response to “completely ridiculous nail art…”

  1. Hazel September 7, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Oh my! Your nail art looks awesome! My fave are the daisies in blue and the marble looking one! Great job!

Leave a Reply

