edamame corn and tomato salsa…

19 Aug

With the abundance of fresh veggies surrounding us I’ve failed big time in the protein department.  I can’t say for sure my lack of energy came from the lack of protein but in keeping with a well balanced diet, for the first time in my life, I had to make an effort to put protein in my recipes!  Don’t worry, I’m still a carnivore at heart.  I had a package of edamame in the freezer and I was going to make an edamame dip but my stupid hand blender is broken.  Delicious salsa it is!

Here’s the recipe for a summery salsa!

What you need!
1 package of frozen edamame with pods
3 corn on the cobs
2 cups of cherry tomatoes (or any other little sweet ones!)
1 banana pepper
1 clove of garlic
3 tbsp rice wine vinegar
1 tbsp light soy sauce
1 tsp sugar
1/2 lemon

What to do!

1.  Boil a pot of water and add your edamame in the shell to the water.  Cook it for 5-7 minutes.  Once they’re cooked, rinse and drain the beans.  Pop those little morsels out of the pod!

2.  Cut your wee tomatoes in half and add them to your edamame

3.  Here’s a shortcut on how to cook corn in the microwave!  Take the husk off and give the cob a quick rinse, wrap the the corn in saran wrap and nuke each cob on high for 2 minutes.  The water will cook those cobs lickety split!  I learned this from my friend’s dad who just couldn’t wait for water to boil.  Let the corn cool and cut the niblets off the core.  Add them in!

4.  Mince the garlic and the banana pepper (make sure to take the seeds out of the peppers!).  Add the rice wine vinegar, soy sauce and sugar.  Stir!

5.  Drizzle the marinade over the salsa and toss.  Taste it and use some more if you need it!  Serve with some lovely toast, on top of tender lettuce or with some crispy tortilla chips!

2 Responses to “edamame corn and tomato salsa…”

  1. David, Seapoint Farms August 19, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    Fantastic recipe and pictures! I work with Seapoint Farms, the largest manufacturer and distributor of edamame in the U.S. We love coming across blog posts like this! I look forward to keeping up with your cooking!

    • munchykitty August 19, 2010 at 9:20 am #

      Thanks for the comment, I’ll keep an eye out for your product, do you happen to distribute to Canada?

Leave a Reply

