get outta town, vegetarian food is tasty? a review of sejuiced…

18 Mar

I’ll be the first to admit that I was raised by a family of carnivores…juicy steaks, vats of crabs, 20lb turkeys, racks of ribs…these were just a few options we had at our big family dinners, with maybe one lame side of veggies.  The past few years I’ve introduced vegetables into my daily diet and no longer say “What the hell is this vegetable doing on my plate?”.  In fact, I’ve opened my eyes to the world of vegetarian foods…my biggest beef (hahahaha) is when vegetarian food tries to imitate meat.  Don’t go messin’ with something that I already know is super tasty, no amount of flavouring is going to mimic my beloved meat so back off and make something that is tasty on its own.

I went to a few vegetarian restaurants in Toronto but only had a good experience with Fresh.  Sweet potato fries with miso gravy was my absolute fave until it all went downhill.  No offense but $8.00 for a bowl of overcooked sweet potatoes is not my idea of a good value.

Here in Vancouver, there are amazing vegetarian restos that are easy on the wallet and tasty!  Even for a carnivore.  Recently I ventured to Sejuiced on 4th Avenue in Kitsilano.  A simple little cafe that I’ve walked past several times but never bothered to go in.  The exterior could use an update as it doesn’t scream modern fresh vegetarian resto but I stumbled on a few reviews online and decided to give it a go.

There isn’t a million things to choose from on their menu which makes selection pretty easy.  I went for a sandwich and side salad at a very reasonable price.  A grilled vegetable sandwich with cheese was $5.25 and I added a salad for an extra $2.50.  Replacing the cheese with vegan cheese was an option for an extra fee.

The bread was full of grains and seeds and was perfectly toasted like a crispy panini.   Big chunks of zucchini, roasted peppers with melty cheese was a perfect combo.  The salad was uber fresh with grated beet and carrots on the top.  Nice dressing too!  Slightly sweet, very light and with a finish of zesty ginger.

They have a list of veggie burgers and the one we ordered was the Life burger.  The delicious patty was not firm but fairly soft with a hint of Indian spices.  A little bit on the mushy side, we were expecting it to be a lot firmer.  Accompanied with avocado, your usual fixins and a generous portion of alfalfa, this tasty burger was super filling.  It came with the same salad as the sandwich.

This place is famous for their juices, I got a mix of carrot, apple and ginger and it was sweet, earthy and had a nice zesty finish!  A little on the pricey side, a 16oz juice ran for about $5.00.  Although the seating area wasn’t very busy, people off the street were coming in to order take out and it never stopped.  Everything looks and tastes really healthy so if you need a break from a week long meatfest, stop in for a quick bite to eat and you’ll feel cleansed all over again!

Atmosphere: 2.5/5
Flavour: 4/5
Presentation: 3/5
Uniqueness: 3.5/5
Service: 2.5/5
Value: 4/5

One Response to “get outta town, vegetarian food is tasty? a review of sejuiced…”

  1. Awkward handshake guy March 18, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    Go veg! Looks pretty tasty. I’ve walked past it a bunch of times too, so next time I’ll stop =)

Leave a Reply

